## MediaRelease

## NATIONAL TRADE FACILITATION COMMITTEE OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO APPOINTED

March 24, 2016:- Senator the Honourable Paula Gopee-Scoon, Minister of Trade and Industry, presented instruments of appointment to the members of the National Trade Facilitation Committee of Trinidad and Tobago (NTFC) on March 23, 2016 at the Ministry's Head Office. In her Address to the newly established committee, the Trade Minister emphasized that 'the Government is aware of the many challenges faced by traders on a daily basis, namely burdensome procedures, time lags in importation and exportation, loss in perishable goods and lack of transparency. The Agreement on Trade Facilitation seeks to alleviate these issues by creating a reliable, fast and cost-effective trade environment that will benefit all trade related stakeholders'. She challenged the Committee to be productive and efficient in the execution of their new mandate.

The Committee's mandate includes the domestic implementation of the World Trade Organization Agreement on Trade Facilitation (TFA) and will mark Trinidad and Tobago's first step towards the implementation of the TFA. The establishment of this Committee and the implementation of the TFA will build on the Government's policy objective of enhancing competitiveness and the ease of doing business which is intended to reduce challenges faced by the commercial, manufacturing and industrial sectors in Trinidad and Tobago. The Committee will ensure that authorities responsible for controls and procedures related to the importation, exportation and transit of goods cooperate with one another and coordinate all activities in order to meet the obligations of the TFA.

The NTFC is co-chaired by Mr. Norris Herbert, Permanent Secretary (Ag.), Ministry of Trade and Industry and Mr. Ammar Samaroo, Comptroller of Customs and Excise Division, Ministry of Finance. The Committee members include Ms. Lavaughn Pritchard, Ministry of Foreign and CARICOM Affairs; Mr. Farz Khan, Ministry of Health; Ms.







Carol Hernandez, Ministry of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs; Mr. Peter Mitchell, Ministry of Planning and Development; Ms. Lueandra Neptune, Ministry of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries; Ms. Joy Francis, Trinidad and Tobago Manufacturers' Association; Mr. Rupert Ramharack, Ministry of Works and Transport; Ms. Lisa Douglas, Trinidad and Tobago Chamber of Industry and Commerce; Ms. ShellyAnn Baptiste, Tobago House of Assembly; Mr. Brian Benjamin, exporTT Limited; Ms. Joanne Beharry, Trinidad and Tobago Bureau of Standards; Ms. Sherry-Ann Greenidge, Port Authority of Trinidad and Tobago; Mr. Emmanuel Baah, Airports Authority of Trinidad and Tobago; Mr. Nicolas Rostant, Customs Clerks and Brokers' Association; and Ms. Shelly Balkissoon, Point Lisas Industrial Port Development Corporation Limited (PLIPDECO).





